2 Birds with one stone

It's been a remarkable weekend. We had Stewart Regan giving an interview for Scotland on Sunday and Graham Spiers hosting a radio show. The former during the course of that interview comments “Charles has made his point but I would ask the question as to why there is a desire to leave “ the latter during his radio show suggested the Rangers support are suffering from a persecution complex.

Let me kill both of these birds with one stone and deal with both the question and the accusation.

Many years ago I studied at the Church of Scotland's St Colms College in Edinburgh. During that time I learned one of life's most valuable lessons – to understand where people are coming from you have to walk about in their shoes for a bit. So what do see when you don the shoes of the average Rangers supporter ?

You certainly see a support with a persecution complex and a desire to leave Scottish football. Forever. So let me present some of the reasons for both.

Lets start with our governing football bodies, who rather than await the process of justice, pre-determine the outcome of a tax tribunal and deal with our club from the perception we are guilty. Who draw up plans to punish our club based on a pre-determination of guilt. Who impose punishments on our club, which have already been deemed unlawful by a Scottish Law Lord.

And despite being cleared of any wrongdoing by that tribunal, those governing bodies are still treating Rangers with contempt. The new league construction model sees Rangers remain in the bottom tier despite the ever increasing likelihood of earning promotion. Yet when Stranraer faced a similar situation several years ago, it was deemed to be unfair and they were granted the promotion they had earned. So why are Rangers being treated in a different manner ?